The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) & Round House Theatre present

The 1st Washington, D.C. One-Minute Play Festival

An evening of micro plays by over 50 of the DC area’s best playwrights

Saturday July 12 at 8pm; Sunday, July 13 at 8pm; Monday July 14 at 8pm
Round House Theatre, 4545 East-West Highway, Bethesda

General admission tickets: $20

After successful partnerships with theater organizations in over 20 cities across the country, The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) now comes to DC – and Round House.

#1MPF will feature close to 90 new One-Minute Plays by more than 50 playwrights from DC’s growing pool of exceptional contemporary writers, including some of the most important artistic voices in the nation.

Artists will work on this emerging short form to explore the relationship of the individual voice to the zeitgeist of the DC region. The writers have several weeks to complete scripts, with the only stipulation being that they can be performed in one minute.

Playwrights are selected by invitation and asked to engage in #1MPF’s playmaking approach. Playwrights are encouraged to write about anything they are passionate about, and, as emerging themes or ideas become apparent, the plays are grouped into “clumps” to reflect those elements. Teams of directors and actors work to stage each clump of plays. And the result: 80 to 90 fully mounted plays, all staged with four chairs.

It’s a fast-paced, fun thrill-ride of non-stop theater.

The DC festival will feature new one-minute plays by: Psalmayene 24, Brett Abelman, Kathleen Akerley, Norman Allen, Randy Baker, Mario Baldessari, Jennifer Barclay, Bob Bartlett, John Becker, Joan Bellsey, Bari Biern, Martin Blank, Michael Bobbitt, Nicole Burton, Patrick Bussink, Renee Calarco, Marni Penning Coleman, Kathryn Coughlin, Jenet Dechary, Thembi Duncan, Maboud Ebrahimzadeh, Rich Espy, Christine Evans, Kitty Felde, Zachary Fernebok, Patrick Flynn, D.W. Gregory, Mary Hanley, Jenn Book Haselswerdt, Paige Hernandez, Caleen S. Jennings, Nicole Jost, Ben Kingsland, Jon Klein, Jacqueline Lawton, Kristen Lepine, Liz Maestri, Sabrina Mandell, Rick Massimo, Heather McDonald, Tom Minter, Danielle Mohlman, Robert Montenegro, Jennifer Nelson, Shawn Northrip, Malcolm Pelles, Mary Resing, David Robinson, Kristy Simmons, Stephen Spotswood, Adi Stein, Chris Stezin, Allyson Stokes, Gwydion Suilebhan, Anu Yadav, Laura Zam, and more

Directed by Randy Baker, Lee Liebskind, Kate Debelack, and Jennifer Mendenhall with Michael Kramer, Ryan Maxwell, Kelsey Mesa, Joshua Morgan, Gus Heagerty, Ty Hallmark, & more.

Curated By #1MPF Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea

The cast includes: Christine Callsen, James Radack, Julia Morrissey, Vashti Sadejy, Renana Fox, Rob Perkins, Karin Roscinek, Audrey Bertaux, Thavma Phillips, KyoSin Kang, Devora Zack, Sarah Gaumond, Michael Claybourne, AAEnglish, Mary Suib, Amy Kellett, DC Cathro, Che’ Lyons, Sisi Reid, Keith J Miller, Kia Braganza, Yasmin Thomas, Theresa Buechler, Karina Hillard, Jennifer Knight, Miriam Foye, Natalie Cutcher, Rafael Sebastian, Bob Manzo, Andrew Keller, Phil Dickerson, Matthew Rubbelke, Lisa Hodsoll, Jonathan Feurer, Cyle Durkee, Sophie Schulman, Regie Cabico, Bonita Brisker, Audrey Bertaux, Kevin Collins, Luis Alberto Gonzalez, Albertha Joseph, Karen Lawrence, Caitlin Shea, Gracie Terzian, Ann Fraistat, Brandyn Ashley Poole, Christine Alexander, Clarissa Barton, Justus Hammond, Taunya Ferguson, Wesley Brown, Lauren Kieler, Graziella Jackson, Jenet Dechary, Alex Alferov, Marc Crow, Vanessa Nolan, Gwen Outen, Eternanda Fudge, Kari Ginsberg, Audrey Meshulam, Amal Saade, Sara Dabney Tisdale, Gray West, Leigh Anna Fry, Ryan Patrick Welsh, Samuel Wright, Elizabeth Darby, Kecia Campbell, Elizabeth Hansen, Paul Lysek, Jon Towson, & more!

The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest running short form theater company. Founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea, #1MPF is barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus building sessions and a performance of many moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theaters sharing playwright or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF creates locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local cultures of playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in close to 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog, Salvage Vanguard, ScriptWorks,  ACT, Perseverance Theatre, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & close to 600 famous, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.

For more info visit: